YANKTON COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING

January 25, 2021

A special meeting of the Yankton County Commission was called to order by Chair Cheri Loest at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, January 25, 2021.

Roll Call was taken with the following Commissioners present: Dan Klimisch, Joseph Healy, Don Kettering, Wanda Howey-Fox and Cheri Loest.

Action 2151 C: A motion was made by Healy and seconded by Kettering to approve the meeting agenda. All present voted aye; motion carried.

There were no conflicts of interest reported by Commissioners.

There were no public comments.

Chair Loest closed public comment.

Action 2152C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Healy to appoint Matt Archer as acting Director of Equalization beginning February 1, 2021. All present voted aye; motion carried.

Highway Superintendent Mike Sedlacek appeared before the board to discuss the Spring Load Limit Resolution 21-1 that was approved at the January 5, 2021 commission meeting. After discussion commissioners decided to make no changes to the resolution.

Commissioner Kettering said he had presented a letter to the board at the January 19, 2021 commission meeting from District III on a proposal to work on the county's Comprehensive Plan. Kettering's recommendation was approval of the proposal from District III.

Action 2153C: A motion was made by Fox and seconded by Healy to approve District III's proposal to assist in updating the Yankton County Comprehensive Plan. All present voted aye; motion carried.

Chair Loest stated 9 p.m. would be this meeting's time limit for discussion of changes to Yankton County's agricultural zoning. Loest said 2½ hours is sufficient time to discuss the issue until the next meeting. Discussion started at the commission level, moved to public comment and then back to the commission to close out the discussion. Topics discussed included: organizing Article 5 so the language flows better; lot sizes; setbacks; classes; conditional use permits; and special permits. Individuals commenting on agricultural zoning changes were: Zane Williams, Dennis Michael, Jay Cutts, Louis Johnson, Chris Barkl, Simon Healy and Kristi Schultz.

There were no public comments.

Chair Loest closed public comment.

Action 2154C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Fox to adjourn. All present voted aye; motion carried.

The next regular meeting will be Tuesday, February 2, 2021 at 6 p.m.

Cheri Loest, Chair Yankton County Commission

ATTEST: **Patty Hojem**, County Auditor