YANKTON COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING

July 1, 2020

A special meeting of the Yankton County Commission was called to order by Chair Cheri Loest at 9:00 AM on Wednesday, July 1, 2020.

Roll Call was taken with the following Commissioners present: Joseph Healy, Gary Swensen, Don Kettering, Dan Klimisch and Cheri Loest.

There were no conflicts of interest reported by Commissioners.

Action 20253C: A motion was made by Healy and seconded by Kettering to approve the meeting agenda. Healy, Kettering, Klimisch and Loest voted aye; Swensen voted nay; motion carried, 4-1

There were no public comments.

Chair Loest said she had discussed executive session attendance with the Yankton County States Attorney Office. She said it was agreed that commissioners who attend a meeting should also attend the executive session portion.

Action 20254C: A motion was made by Healy and seconded by Kettering to recess the regular session at 9:10 a.m. and convene in executive session to discuss litigation SDCL 1-25-2(3). Healy, Kettering, Klimisch and Loest voted aye; Swensen voted nay; motion carried, 4-1.

Action 20255C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Healy to adjourn the executive session at 10:30 a.m. and reconvene in regular session.

Action 20256C: A motion was made by Healy and seconded by Kettering to settle cases discussed in executive session. Roll call vote was taken with Healy, Kettering and Loest voting aye; Klimisch voting nay and Swensen abstain. Motion carried, 3-1-1.

Action 20257C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Healy to adjourn. All present voted aye; motion carried.

There were two public comments from Gary Swensen and Patty Vavra.

The next regular meeting will be Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

Cheri Loest, Chair Yankton County Commission

ATTEST:

Patty Hojem, County Auditor