MINUTES

SCHEDULED MEETING

YANKTON COUNTY WIND TASK FORCE

THURSDAY, APRIL 11, 2024 – 4:00 P.M. YANKTON COUNTY COMMISSION CHAMBERS

- I. Call to Order: Yankton County Wind Task Force meeting was called to order by Cheri Loest Wind Task Force Chair
- II. Roll Call: Members of the Wind Task Force present for roll call were Mike Healy, Cheri Loest, Lauren Nelson, Eugene Hornstra, Laura Kotalik, Robert Byrnes and Mike Welsh. Don Kettering and Ryan Heine were absent. Development Services Director Gary Vetter was also present.
- III. Abstain, Financial Conflict (SDCL 6-1-17) or Non-Financial Interest-Must State Reason for Abstaining There were no task force members abstaining.
- IV. Agenda: After discussion, Mike Healy moved and Kotalik seconded to approve the proposed April 11, 2024 Agenda. All members voted aye; motion carried.
- V. Minutes: Laura Kotalik moved and Mike Welsh seconded to approve the amended April 04, 2024 minutes reflecting the Wind Task Force recommendation to County Commission for a ban on all Large Wind Energy Systems in Yankton County by a vote of 7-2. All voting aye, motion carried for approval of amended minutes.
- VI. Public Comment: Sharon Ackland made a public comment.
- VII. Discussion ensued on review of proposed ordinance for Wind Energy Systems to be moved on to Yankton County Planning Commission.
- VIII. Adjournment: Motion by Mike Welsh, seconded by Robert Byrnes to adjourn at 4:27pm