YANKTON COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING

July 22, 2020

A special meeting of the Yankton County Commission was called to order by Chair Cheri Loest at 9:00 AM on Wednesday, July 22, 2020.

Roll Call was taken with the following Commissioners present: Joseph Healy, Gary Swensen, Don Kettering, Dan Klimisch and Cheri Loest.

There were no conflicts of interest reported by Commissioners.

Action 20311C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Klimisch to approve the meeting agenda. All present voted aye; motion carried.

There was one public comment from Gary Swensen.

Chair Loest closed public comment.

Budget Hearings: The Board discussed 2021 budget.

Action 20312C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Klimisch to recess the commission meeting for ten minutes. All present voted aye; motion carried.

Action 20313C: A motion was made by Swensen and seconded by Healy to reconvene. All present voted aye; motion carried.

Action 20314C: A motion was made by Klimisch and seconded by Kettering to recess the commission meeting for five minutes. All present voted aye; motion carried.

Action 20315C: A motion was made by Swensen and seconded by Kettering to reconvene. All present voted aye; motion carried.

The board also discussed to increase the wheel tax from the current \$4.00 per wheel not to exceed 4 wheels to \$5.00 per wheel not to exceed 4 wheels or the maximum of \$5.00 per wheel not to exceed 12 wheels, the board will discussing the issue at the August commission meetings for public input. A final decision is planned for the August 18 meeting.

There were no public comments.

Chair Loest closed public comment.

Action 20316C: A motion was made by Kettering and seconded by Swensen to adjourn. All present voted aye; motion carried.

The next regular meeting will be Tuesday, August 4, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

Cheri Loest, Chair Yankton County Commission

ATTEST: **Patty Hojem**, County Auditor